Walton County resident Top Gun and highest academic honor graduate of GSP 106th Trooper School

Press release from Georgia Department of Public Safety

Post Advertisement

Trooper Nicholas Hawkins. Contributed photo

(FORSYTH) – The Georgia State Patrol graduated its 106th Trooper School on Friday, August 16, at the Georgia Public Safety Training Center (GPSTC) in Forsyth and a Walton County resident, Trooper Nicholas Hawkins, graduated Top Gun. He also earned the highest Academic Average for which he received a $1,000 scholarship towards a bachelor’s degree in Criminal Justice from Reinhardt University. Hawkins has been assigned to GSP Post 46 in Monroe. 

Trooper Rebecca Moran. Contributed photo

Another local graduate, Trooper Rebecca Moran of Gwinnett County, has been assigned to GSP Post 51 in Gwinnett County. She was recognized for her leadership in Sergeant-at-Arms.

According to a press release on the latest graduates, after 32 weeks of intense training, the 33 new troopers are assigned to one of the 52 posts throughout the state. Gov. Brian P. Kemp was the keynote speaker at the graduation ceremony and he also issued the Oath of Office. Other speakers included Colonel Mark W. McDonough, Commissioner of the Department of Public Safety and Capt. Joshua Lamb, Director of Training.
Before graduating as troopers, the cadets spend 20 weeks at the academy and 12 weeks in-field training. The Georgia Peace Officer Standards and Training Council (POST) requires all peace officers receive a minimum of 400 hours of Basic Mandate Training. The newly graduated troopers had received over 1,500 hours of training, including driving, defensive tactics, vehicle stops, Spanish, criminal law and criminal procedure, firearms, accident investigation, and various other training.
“It was an honor to go through this tough challenge of life together and I wish you all the best in your careers wherever it may lead you,” said class president Trooper Jerry Slade during remarks to his fellow class members. “We’re right where we need to be.”

Trooper Kyle Thompson was recognized for top honors in driving proficiency and Trooper Clarence Johnson in firearms proficiency. Additionally, the following graduates were recognized for their leadership: Trooper Erik Austell, Vice President; Trooper David Allan, Secretary/Treasurer; Trooper Patrick Pollett, Chaplain; and Trooper Evan Joyner, Pennant Bearer.

106th Graduating Georgia State Patrol Troopers. Contributed photo

The following were all the assignments of all the graduates from the GSP 106th Trooper School.


Erguens Accilien Columbia Post 21 – Sylvania
David Allan Hall Post 6 – Gainesville
Jalin Anderson Richmond Post 33 – Milledgeville
Erik Austell Bibb Post 15 – Perry
Evan Bauza Chatham Post 11 – Hinesville
Logan Beck Camden Post 23 – Brunswick
Christopher Cates Rabun Post 27 – Blue Ridge
Seferino Chavez Clayton Post 47 – Forest Park
Demon Clark Greene Post 17 – Washington
Christopher Cordell Catoosa Post 5 – Dalton
Clint Donaldson Coweta Post 49 – Motor Unit
Eric Guerrero Coffee Post 36 – Douglas
Jonathan Hayes Paulding Post 29 – Paulding
Nicholas Hawkins Walton Post 46 – Monroe
Bradley Hunt Muscogee  Post 2 – LaGrange
Clarence Johnson Richmond Post 25 – Grovetown
Evan Joyner Muscogee Post 2 – LaGrange
Richard Justice Columbia Post 25 – Grovetown
Malcolm Martinez Cobb Post 47 – Forest Park
Rebecca Moran Gwinnett Post 51 – Gwinnett
Paul Osuegbu Barrow Post 6 – Gainesville
Jose Perez Colquitt Post 13 – Tifton
Patrick Pollett Columbia Post 25 – Grovetown
Troy Pudder Houston Post 30 – Cordele
Caleb Pyle Coweta Post 24 – Newnan
Daysi Ramirez Houston Post 15 – Perry
Gabriel Rampy Carroll Post 4 – Villa Rica
Adam Salter Pike Post 26 – Thomaston
Jerry Slade Crisp Post 30 – Cordele
Kyle Thompson Berrien Post 36 – Douglas
James Vaughan Sumter Post 10 – Americus
Brian Whelehan Bryan Post 23 – Brunswick
Kelley Whitaker Miller Post 14 – Colquitt


Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply