Early voting in Monroe and Social Circle runoffs begins Monday

Walton County Board of Elections confirmed that early voting in the municipal elections for the City of Monroe and the City of Social Circle will begin Monday.

Early voting will take place Monday to Wednesday, Nov. 20 – 22, 2017 as well as the following week, Monday through Friday, Nov. 22 to Dec. 1, 2017, during business hours. Early voting for the City of Monroe runoff will take place at the County Government Building, 303 S. Hammond Drive in Monroe between the hours of 8:30 a.m. to 5 p.m. Early voting for the City of Social Circle runoff will take place at Social Circle City Hall, 166 N. Cherokee Road, Social Circle between the hours of 8 a.m. and 4:30 p.m. Both locations will be closed Thursday and Friday next week (Nov. 23-24, 2017) for Thanksgiving. There will be no Saturday voting. The official runoff will take place between 7 a.m. and 7 p.m. on Tuesday, Dec. 5, 2017

If you wish to vote absentee by mail, you can contact the Elections Office at 770-267-1337 by Friday, Dec. 1, 2017 to have an absentee ballot mailed out. You must live inside the city limits of Monroe or in Social Circle City Council District 1 to be eligible to vote in this election.

On the runoff ballot for the City of Monroe are John Howard and Sandra Shurling for mayor and former mayor and municipal court judge David Dickinson and Lidia Garrett, wife of current Monroe City Councilman Norman Garrett, for District 8. Howard got 41.42 percent of the vote with 536 votes, falling short of the 50 plus one percent needed to win the election outright. Shurling got 383 votes, 10 more than incumbent Mayor Greg Thompson who was not able to make it to the runoff despite a recount.

In Social Circle, candidates Tim Haney and Traysa Price face off against each other for the District 1 seat. Each received 98 votes, giving them a 44.95 percent tie. Adolphus Gaither received 22 votes, the remaining 10 percent.

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply