Election season is about to begin in earnest in Walton County

It is a big election season this year with the president on the top of the ticket and all the way down – and Walton County elections are right there in the mix.

Qualifying for county elected offices will be held in the Walton County Board of Elections office, beginning at 9 a.m. on Monday, March 2 and will end at noon on March 6, 2020. Qualifying will take place at 303 South Hammond Drive, Suite 111 in Monroe.

The General Primary will be held on May 19, 2020, and the General Election will be held on November 3, 2020.

The following are the qualifying fees that were set by the Walton County Board of Commissioners:

Judge of Probate Court $2,034.00

The Incumbent is Bruce E. Wright

Clerk of Superior Court $2,034.00

The Incumbent is Karen P David. David was appointed in March 2019 to replace longtime clerk Kathy Trost on her retirement last year.

Sheriff $2,347.42

The incumbent is Joe Chapman.

Tax Commissioner $2,034.00

The incumbent is Derry M. Boyd

Surveyor $25.00

The incumbent is John F. Brewer.

Coroner $854.10

The incumbent is Joe Page.

Chief Magistrate $2,034.00

The incumbent is Mike Burke.

Chairman, Board of Commissioners $2,347.42

The incumbent is Kevin Little, who has announced his retirement. David Thompson has already announced that he will be running for the position.

County Commissioner, District 2 $240.61

The incumbent is Mark Banks

County Commissioner, District 3 $240.61

The incumbent is Timmy Shelnutt. He has confirmed that he will be running for re-election and Wesley Jackson has announced he will be challenging Shelnutt for the seat.

County Commissioner, District 6 $240.61

The incumbent is Kirklyn Dixon who has confirmed that he will be running for re-election.

Board of Education, District 3 $121.48

The incumbent is Diane Turner

Board of Education, District 4 $121.48

The incumbent is Coleman Landers

Board of Education, District 6 $121.48

The incumbent is John Jessup.

Board of Education, District 7 $121.48

The incumbent is David Breedlove.


Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply