GSP Graduates its 103rd Trooper School

FORSYTH – The Georgia State Patrol graduated its 103rd Trooper School on Friday, Sept. 21, at the Georgia Public Safety Training Center in Forsyth. After 32 weeks of intense training, 48 new troopers will report to patrol posts throughout the state on Thursday, November 1. Governor Nathan Deal was the keynote speaker and encouraged the new troopers to always put safety first not just for the motoring public, but especially for themselves as they patrol Georgia’s roadways. Additional remarks were given by Colonel Mark W. McDonough, Commissioner of the Department of Public Safety and Capt. Scott Woodell, Director of Training. Colonel McDonough presented Governor Deal with an Honorary Trooper certificate for his dedication and support of the department during his tenure as governor. The Oath of Office was issued by Judge Brian Rickman of the Georgia Court of Appeals.

Trooper Cadets spend 20 weeks at the academy and 12 weeks in field training. The Georgia Peace Officer Standards and Training Council (POST) requires that all peace officers receive a minimum of 400 hours of Basic Mandate Training. At the completion of Trooper School, these newly graduated trooper cadets received over 1,500 hours of training, including driving, defensive tactics, vehicle stops, Spanish, criminal law and criminal procedure, firearms, accident investigation, and various other training.

During remarks to his fellow class members, class president, Tpr. Tedarrius N. Teasley, reminded them that they were the seeds of the Georgia State Patrol who were planted, watered with training, and will rise to every situation. “No seed grows on its own,” he stated.

Two of the graduates received special honors for top performance in various fields of study, with one receiving three of the four awards. The honorees were:

  • Firearms Proficiency – Tpr. Ethan W. Smith (Score: 296.8 out of 300), of Monroe
  • Driving Proficiency – Tpr. Keldon C. McCrary
  • Highest Academic Average – Tpr. Keldon C. McCrary (Score: 98.55 out of 100)
  • Top Gun – Tpr. Keldon C. McCrary

Tpr. McCrary also received a $1,000 scholarship towards a bachelor’s degree in Criminal Justice from Reinhardt University for having the highest academic average in his class.

Additionally, the following graduates were recognized for their leadership: Tpr. Kevin M. Kirby, Secretary/Treasurer; Tpr. Nicholas T. Collins, Pennant Bearer; Tpr. Aaron W. Morton, Chaplain; and Tpr. Hunter M. Waters, Jr., Sergeant-At-Arms.

Each commissioned trooper will report to his post on November 1, 2018. The new graduates are assigned to one of the 52 posts throughout the state.

News Release provided by the Georgia Department of Public Safety

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply