New Georgia State Patrol graduates with links to the local area

Press release from Georgia State Patrol

Joshua Staff of Monroe. Contributed photo

(FORSYTH) – The Georgia State Patrol graduated its 105th Trooper School on Friday, March 15, at Post 50 – Capitol Hill in Atlanta. After 32 weeks of intense training, 18 new troopers will report to patrol posts throughout the state on Monday, April 15. Lt. Governor Geoff Duncan was the keynote speaker. Lt. Colonel Russell Powell issued the Oath of Office. Additionally, remarks were given by Colonel Mark W. McDonough, Commissioner of the Department of Public Safety and Capt. Joshua Lamb, Director of Training.

Samuel Shell of Gwinnett. Contributed photo

Trooper Cadets spend 20 weeks at the academy and 12 weeks in field training. The Georgia Peace Officer Standards and Training Council (POST) requires that all peace officers receive a minimum of 400 hours of Basic Mandate Training.

Julian Mapes of Gwinnett. Contributed Photo


At the completion of Trooper School, these newly graduated trooper cadets received over 1,500 hours of training, including driving, defensive tactics, vehicle stops, Spanish, criminal law and criminal procedure, firearms, accident investigation, and various other training

During remarks to his fellow class members, class president, Tpr. Garrett C. T. King, emphasized what it meant to be a trooper, who they were as individuals, and why they wanted to become troopers.

Four of the graduates received special honors for top performance in various fields of study.

Alejandro Aponte-Gotay of Gwinnett. Contributed photo

The honorees were:

  • Firearms Proficiency – Tpr. Stanley L. McCoy, Jr.
  • Driving Proficiency – Tpr. Ronaldo Kegel
  • Highest Academic Average – Tpr. Samuel J. Shell
  • Top Gun – Tpr. Garrett C. T. King

Tpr. Shell also received a $1,000 scholarship towards a bachelor’s degree in Criminal Justice from Reinhardt University for having the highest academic average in his class.

Additionally, the following graduates were recognized for their leadership: Tpr. Taylor Cooper, Vice President; Tpr. Alejandro Aponte-Gotay, Secretary/Treasurer; Tpr. William Sexton, IV, Chaplain; Tpr. Julian Mapes, Sergeant-At-Arms; Tpr. Kemonte Figures, Pennant Bearer; and Tpr. Christopher Rigby, Base Bearer.

Each commissioned trooper will report to his post on April 15, 2019. The new graduates are assigned to one of the 52 posts throughout the state.

Alejandro Aponte-Gotay Gwinnett Post 49 – Motor Unit
Melton Black Bartow Post 9 – Marietta
Jason Brown Toombs Post 18 – Reidsville
Damascus Chambers Bryan Post 23 – Brunswick
Taylor Cooper Colquitt Post 12 – Thomasville
Michael Craddock Fulton Post 51 – Gwinnett
Brad Cuevas Hart Post 32 – Athens
Kemonte Figures Paulding Post 29 – Paulding
Alberto Jensen Fayette Post 24 – Newnan
Ronaldo Kegel Paulding Post 29 – Paulding
Garrett King Gordon Post 41 – LaFayette
Richard Lawrence Charlton Post 35 – Jekyll Island
Julian Mapes Gwinnett Post 46 – Monroe
Stanley McCoy, Jr. Treutlen Post 19 – Swainsboro
Christopher Rigby Bacon Post 23 – Brunswick
William Sexton, IV Carroll Post 4 – Villa Rica
Samuel Shell Gwinnett Post 51 – Gwinnett
Joshua Staff Monroe Post 44 – Forsyth

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply