Races set for City of Monroe municipal elections

Qualifying ended at 4:30 p.m. on Friday, Aug. 25, for the Nov. 7, 2023 City of Monroe municipal elections. In without a challenge are incumbent District 1 Councilwoman Lee Malcom and incumbent District 2 Councilwoman Myoshia Crawford. Also in without a challenge is newcomer Julie Sams who was the only candidate to run for Councilman Larry Bradley’s District 4 seat. Bradley had announced that he would not be seeking another term.

Also in, but with a challenge, is incumbent District 5 Councilman Norman Garrett. His seat is being challenged by Adriane Brown who is mounting a second attempt to earn a seat on the Monroe City Council.

There are two qualifiers for District 7 which is currently held by City Councilman Nathan Little who also has announced that he will not be seeking re-election in November. Former Monroe mayor and councilman Greg Thompson announced that he would be seeking a return to council and subsequently has qualified to run. However, he is facing a challenge from Vivian Henson for the seat.

Qualifiers for Monroe City Council are as follows:

District 1

Lee P. Malcom (i)

District 2

Myoshia Crawford (i)

District 4

Julie Sams

District 5

Adriane M Brown

Norman Garrett (i)

District 7

Vivian Henson

Greg Thompson

The municipal elections will be held on Nov. 7, 2023. Advanced voting runs from Oct. 16 to Nov. 3 with Saturday voting on Oct. 21 and 28. You have to be a city resident to vote in the municipal elections.

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply