Seven qualify for three seats on Loganville City Council; Baliles unopposed for mayor


At the close of qualifying on Wednesday, seven people had qualified for one of the three seats up for grabs on the Loganville City Council next year and mayoral candidate Skip Baliles is entering the race unopposed. There will be at least two new council members elected on Nov. 2, 2021 as Councilwoman Anne Huntsinger was the only incumbent to qualify. Councilmembers Danny Ford and Lisa Newberry did not seek re-election and will therefore be stepping down at the end of their current terms.


On the second day of qualifying, one more candidate signed on to run for a seat on the Loganville City Council. Loganville resident Melanie Long was the only person to add her name to the list, making it six candidates that are now vying for a seat on the Loganville City Council.

Initial story

Qualifying for the Nov. 2, 2021 Loganville municipal elections began at 8:30 a.m. on Monday, Aug. 16, and will end at 4:30 p.m. on Wednesday, Aug. 18, 2017 – and potential candidates did not waste any time in submitting qualifying documents. By 4:30 p.m. Monday, one candidate for mayor and five for one of the three at-large city council posts had already officially submitted their applications.

The election is for the office of mayor and three at-large city council posts. The qualifying fee is $360 for the office of mayor and $180 for the office of council member.

Incumbent Mayor Rey Martinez had already announced he would not be running to defend his seat. Instead, in 2022, he is seeking to replace Incumbent state Rep. Tom Kirby for District 114 in the Georgia House of Representatives. Kirby said he will not be running for another term when his seat is up next year. Former City Councilman Skip Baliles had announced that he would be throwing his hat into the ring to replace Martinez as mayor of Loganville and he has now officially submitted his qualifying documents.

The three seats up for grabs on the Loganville City Council are those held by Council Members Ann Huntsinger, Lisa Newberry and Danny Ford. Huntsinger and Newberry have announced that they intend to run for a second term but Ford, who has served since 2016, has said he will not be running. Several other candidates have already announced their intent to run for a seat on the Loganville City Council. These include Branden Whitfield, Terry Parsons, Melanie Long and Shenia Rivers-Devine. Huntsinger, Whitfield, Parsons and Rivers-Devine made it official Monday by submitting qualifying documents, as did a fifth candidate, Rosa D. Steele.

This information will be updated daily as candidates qualify.


Three at-large City Council seats

  • Anne Huntsinger
  • Terry Parsons
  • Shenia Rivers-Devine
  • Rosa D. Steele
  • Branden Whitfield
  • Melanie Long
  • James Wilson

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply