Update: Four of the five incumbents have a challenge for their seat on the Monroe City Council

Update 8/23/2019

Councilwoman Lee Malcom, who qualified to seek re-election for her seat serving District 1, is the only one of the five incumbents who will not have a challenge for their seat on the Monroe City Council. As at close of qualifying at 4:30 p.m. on Friday, Clayton Mathies had qualified to challenge incumbent Myoshia Crawford for District 2, Kim Greenlee had qualified to challenge incumbent Larry Bradley for District 4, Stephen Peters had qualified to challenge Norman Garrett for District 5 and Lisa Smith had qualified to challenge Nathan Little for District 7.

Update 8/20/2019

All five incumbents qualified Monday at the opening of the City of Monroe qualifiers for the Nov. 5 election for a seat on the Monroe City Council and by noon on Tuesday, a challenger had thrown her hat into the ring. On Monday, incumbent councilmembers Lee Malcom, Larry Bradley, Norman Garrett, Myoshia Crawford and Nathan Little had qualified. Tuesday, Kim Greenlee qualified for District 4 to challenge Bradley for his seat.

District 1

Lee Malcom (i)

District 2

Myoshia Crawford (i)

Clayton Mathias

District 4

Larry Bradley (i)

Kim Greenlee

District 5

Norman Garrett (i)

Stephen Peters

District 7

Nathan Little (i)

Lisa Smith

Initial story

There are five seats up for grabs on the Monroe City Council this November and all five incumbents are expected to seek re-election. Councilwoman Lee Malcom will seek re-election for a third term serving District 1, Councilman Larry Bradley for a third term serving District 4, Councilman Norman Garrett will seek a second term serving District 5 as will Councilwoman Myoshia Crawford for District 2 and Councilman Nathan Little will seek a fourth term serving District 7.

The Mayor and Council serve four-year staggered terms. Anyone else wishing to throw his or her hat into the ring to challenge any of the incumbents need to qualify between Monday, August 19, 2019, at 8:30 a.m. and Friday, August 23, 2019, at 4:30 p.m. in the office of the Walton County Board of Elections, 303 South Hammond Drive, Suite 111 during office hours. The qualifying package can be picked up at Walton County Board of Elections, 303 South Hammond Drive Suite 111, Monroe, Georgia 30655.

Anyone wishing to seek to serve on the Monroe City Council need to pay the $180 non-refundable qualifying fee and comply with the following:

1. Must be a one (1) year City of Monroe resident at least one year preceding the election in which he offers as a candidate.
2. Must be a registered voter of the City of Monroe.
3. Must be at least 21 years of age.
4. Must state which seat/person for which you are qualifying.

Elected officials take office at the first organizational meeting in the month of January following the election and, once elected, must continue to live in the City of Monroe while serving on the council. Also, they may not hold any other city office or city employment while serving on the city council.

City Council members are paid $500 a month and they are expected to attend all the meetings as well as annual Strategic Planning Sessions, some required conferences and seminars, and budget review sessions. They are also expected to participate in county or community involvement programs, leadership programs, and are encouraged to attend some community events.

The election will take place from 7 a.m. to 7 p.m. and included on the ballot is a referendum on the Brunch Bill. Voters get to decide whether restaurants in Monroe can begin serving alcoholic beverages between 11 a.m. and 12 midnight on a Sunday.

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply