Georgia DOT seeks public input for upcoming federally-funded projects

Press release from the Georgia Department of Transportation

Public is encouraged to attend local meetings
GAINESVILLE, Ga.–The Georgia Department of Transportation (GDOT) is making available the Draft FY 2018 – 2021 Statewide Transportation Improvement Program (STIP) in Northeast Georgia for public review and comment.

The STIP is a four-year program that is designed to achieve Georgia’s transportation goals as envisioned by the Governor and State Transportation Board for improving the mobility of people and goods across the state, expanding Georgia’s role in global commerce, reducing injury and loss of life on Georgia’s roadways, and prioritizing investments in Georgia’s transportation infrastructure assets.

The STIP specifies federally funded transportation projects for non-urban communities in rural Georgia for fiscal years 2018, 2019, 2020, and 2021. These projects include, but are not limited to, new construction, improvements, maintenance for Interstates and state routes, and bridges. Additional projects include bicycle and pedestrian projects, transportation enhancement projects, and public transit projects.

The Georgia DOT district one office in Gainesville will sponsor two open house meetings where the public can view the Draft FY 2018-21 STIP in Northeast Georgia, view maps of projects in the local area, discuss projects with GDOT staff, and formally offer comments. The meetings are open to the public and all are encouraged and welcome to attend.

Meetings in Northeast Georgia will be held:

September 11, 2017
Helen City Hall Council Chambers
25 Alpenrosen Strasse Helen, GA 30545
5 p.m. -7 p.m.

September 12, 2017
Pat Bell Conference Center
7020 GA-82 Connector
Maysville, GA 30558
5 p.m. – 7 p.m.

The general public is invited to view projects planned for Banks, Barrow, Dawson, Elbert, Franklin, Habersham, Hart, Jackson, Lumpkin, Madion, Oconee, Rabun, Stephens, Towns, Union, Walton,  and White.

Counties that are designated as part of “metropolitan areas” review all of their projects through their Metropolitan Planning Organization and will have their public review done independently. The counties in Northeast Georgia included in Metropolitan Planning Organizations (areas with more than 50,000 in population) and not a part of the STIP are Clarke, Forsyth, Gwinnett, and Hall.

The Draft FY 2018-21 STIP will also be available online at http:/ The Department looks forward to working with the public during the development of the Draft FY 2018-21 STIP.

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply