Update: Loganville Municipal Election qualifying ends at 4:30 p.m. Wednesday

Please note, qualifying for Loganville elections end at 4:30 p.m. today, Wednesday, Aug. 23, 2017, not noon as previously stated.


Qualifying for the Nov. 7, 2017 Municipal Elections in Loganville ends at 4:30 p.m. today, Wednesday, Aug. 23, 2017. As of this morning, four people have now qualified for the three at-large seats, incumbent Councilman Danny Ford, former mayor and former city councilman Mike Jones and newcomers Ann Coles and Lisa Newberry.  Donna Jones and Councilman Rey Martinez qualified for the mayoral election, effectively taking Martinez off the council leaving one seat open. Councilman Mark Kiddoo announced he would not be running for re-election, opening up the other seat. With four qualified for the at-large seat and two for mayor before close off at 4:30 p.m. this afternoon, it guarantees that there will be elections in Loganville in November for both the mayoral post as well as the three city council seats.

Initial story

Qualifying for the Nov. 7, 2017 Loganville municipal elections begins at 8:30 a.m. on Monday, Aug. 21, and ends at noon on Wednesday, Aug. 23, 2017. The election is for the office of mayor and three at-large city council posts. Anyone who wishes to qualify for any of these seats needs to do so in the Loganville city clerk’s office, Loganville City Hall, 4303 Lawrenceville Highway, between 8:30 a.m. to noon and from 1 – 4:30 p.m. Monday to Wednesday.

The qualifying fee is $360 for the office of mayor and $180 for the office of council member.

Two people have already announced for the office of mayor. Current Councilman Rey Martinez announced at the August City Council meeting that he was resigning from his council post on his qualification for mayor and Donna Jones, wife of former city manager Bill Jones. has announced that she too intends to qualify to run for the mayoral seat. Incumbent Mayor Dan Curry has said he would not be running for re-election. Martinez’ council seat is now open along with the seats held by current Vice Mayor Mark Kiddoo and Councilman Danny Ford. Ford has announced his intention to seek to hold onto his seat, but Kiddoo has not yet announced his re-election plans.

This post will be updated as qualifying information comes in.

Loganville Mayor

  • Rey Martinez
  • Donna


Loganville City Council

  • Danny Ford
  • Mike Jones
  • Ann Coles


Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply