Walton Electric Trust Awards $156,000 in Scholarships

Press release from Walton EMC

Students from across Walton EMC’s 10-county service area have received the latest round of Walton Electric Trust Scholarships for 2017.

More than 200 students applied for the scholarship that helps fund post-secondary education at a college or vo-tech school. Applicants were evaluated on work ethic, triumph over obstacles, community service and extracurricular activities. The scholarship committee also reviewed recommendations from teachers and other adults involved in the students’ lives.

Of those, 33 students were selected to receive scholarships of $4,000. Another 28 were awarded runner-up scholarships of $1,000. The $4,000 winners included students from Monroe Area High School, Loganville High School, Walnut Grove High School, Loganville Christian Academy and South Gwinnett High School.

Photo credit: Walton EMC

Students from across Walton EMC’s 10-county service area receiving a $4,000 Walton Trust Scholarship are, front row, left to right: Collett Owens, Brookwood High; Abi Ivemeyer, Brookwood High; Camryn Greer, Loganville Christian; Chasidy Hendricks, Monroe Area High; Kusona Fortingo, Brookwood High; Chloe King, Parkview High; Erika Allen, Brookwood High; Abby Hooper, Brookwood High; Katherine Stanley, home school; Jordyn DeLaRosa, Walnut Grove High; Lindsey Peevy, Walnut Grove High; second row, Timothy McElveen, Jr., Walnut Grove High; Gaines Roberts, Loganville Christian; Melcon Hinds, Grayson High; Jack Kulp, North Oconee High; Amber Sale, North Oconee High; Madelyn Thorpe, North Oconee High; Lanier Lowry, North Oconee High; Renee Silva, North Oconee High; Kai Blakenship, North Oconee High; Marissa Van Hassel, South Gwinnett High; Selena Franklin, South Gwinnett High; third row, Jordan Siggers, Walnut Grove High; Cole Allison, North Oconee High; William Cannon, North Oconee High; Jakob Sharpe, Monroe Area High; Maxim Badea, Archer High; Nicholas Kresin, Oconee High; Avanthea Holzman, North Oconee High; Audrey Eby, Loganville High; Sarah LeBarbera, Loganville High. Not pictured: Weston Bell and Anthony Potts, both of North Oconee High, and Bryce Seals, Peachtree Academy.

The Trust has awarded 447 scholarships worth $1,013,000 since the program began in 2009. The scholarships are funded by unclaimed refunds to former Walton EMC customer-owners. After all efforts are exhausted to find the rightful owners, the money goes into an endowment provided for by Georgia law.

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply