Outgoing Monroe Mayor Greg Thompson and Councilman Jimmy Richardson recognized

At the last Monroe City Council meeting of the year Tuesday, and effectively the last one for outgoing Mayor Greg Thompson and Councilman Jimmy Richardson, Monroe’s public safety staff made a presentation honoring them for their service to the city and people of Monroe and especially the public safety department.

“We want to recognize our outgoing Mayor Greg Thompson. Thank you for everything you’ve done for the city of Monroe for the last 12 years,” City Administrator Logan Propes said in announcing the presentation. “It’s a long time to be mayor. It’s certainly not the same city that we started with and we appreciate you very much.”

Props then called up Richardson and Public Safety Director Keith Glass who, with the support of fire and police personnel, presented both Thompson and Richardson each with a flag made from used fire hoses.

Monroe Public Safety Director Keith Glass thanks outgoing Mayor Greg Thompson and Councilman Jimmy Richardson for their service to the City. Photo credit: Sharon Swanepoel

Walton County Development Authority Director Shane short added his thanks to Thompson in public comment on behalf of Walton County. He said Thompson, who served as the city’s representative on the Development Authority, had a brick placed in the Veteran’s Memorial in his honor and had been honored for his service at the last meeting, but he still wanted to make a quick public comment at the meeting.

“I wanted to come tonight to publicly say thank you for your service – not only to the city of Monroe, but also the entire Walton county through the Development Authority,” Short said.

Mayor-elect John Howard and incoming Councilman David Dickinson will be sworn in sometime between Christmas and New Year, according to Howard. Re-elected Councilman Wayne Adcock and Councilman Ross Bradley also will be sworn in to their new terms on the Monroe City Council. Adcock was re-elected unopposed and Bradley won the unexpired term of former Monroe councilman Nathan Purvis as well as a full 4-year-term for District 3. Howard and Dickinson won runoffs Dec. 5 defeating Sandra Shurling and Lidia Garrett respectively.

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply